Where are your chakras and how can they help you?

I have been spending some of my recovery time working on re balancing  my heart chakra post surgery. Everything done to my chest and upper back has had both physical and emotional side effects. So it’s time for me to re energize my heart chakra!

Some of you might be very familiar with your chakras and some of you might be wondering what the heck a chakra even is?

The Chakras are energy centres in the body. There are seven major ones that are referenced  for healing  and balancing the system physically and energetically. The chakras are linked to the practice of yoga and their earliest mention goes back to the Vedas, which are a series of hymns that are traced back to ancient India. CG Jung referred to the Chakras as ‘gateways of consciousness’.

The seven main chakras are located along the spine from the tailbone up to the top and out the crown of your head. They are sometimes referred to as wheels since they tend to spin smoothly and quickly when  your energy in that particular area is flowing well. I want to give you a brief overview of what they are and then each week I will focus on one of the seven. Each one has its own purpose and effect on the body and soul. We will  look at the issues, health concerns and blockages that can be found there as well as mantras, yoga poses and meditations to try and help clear blocked energy and get things flowing smoothly again.

The seven Chakras from top to bottom:

CrownSanskrit word: Sahasrara – Location : top of the head  – Relates to: awareness, spirit, higher self, consciousness, enlightenment – this is the place where you connect to your “higher self”

Third Eye – Ajna – centre of the forehead between your eyes – telepathy, inner intelligence,clairvoyance, deeper understanding – your intuition lives here

Throat – Vishuddha – above the pit of the throat – communication, creativity – needing to speak your truth to yourself or others

Heart – Anahata – the centre of your chest – love, healing, affection,sympathy,empathy – all things love related live here

Solar Plexus – Manipura – the navel – will power, sense of self, notion of ” I am “, confidence, control – that feeling in the pit of your stomach

Sacral – Svadisthana – below the navel, above the pubic bone – creation, sexuality, imagination, emotions,instincts – this is were feelings live as well your connection to sexual energy

Root – Muladhara – at the very base of the spine, perineum – tribal connection, family history, security, raw energy, stability – I want to belong and I want to feel safe

Balancing  the energy flowing through your chakra system can have positive effects on your body, mind and spirit. We are going to explore one Chakra each week starting from the bottom of the body and working our way up to the top so stay tuned!

In the meantime check out one of my favourite chakra books –Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System

As always please feel free to share insights or ask questions in the comment section below.


2 thoughts on “Where are your chakras and how can they help you?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s